Bible in One Year – Week 3 #BiOY

Having resolved this yearn to join with my church family (and many others) in reading the whole bible this year, I intend to hold myself accountable by sharing a key personal learning point each week.

This week I really noticed the emphasis Jesus placed on our forgiveness of others. In Matthew 18:21-35 Jesus tells the parable of the unforgiving servant, who received the pity of his master when unable to repay him, but in turn would not show mercy to another servant who owed him money. His master hears of what has happened, and sees that the wicked servant is thrown into prison.

Jesus warns, ‘This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother or sister from your heart.’ (Matthew 18:35)

– – – – – – –

I was also greatly comforted by these words from Psalm 17:

I call on you, my God, for you will answer me;
    turn your ear to me and hear my prayer.
Show me the wonders of your great love,
    you who save by your right hand
    those who take refuge in you from their foes.
Keep me as the apple of your eye;
    hide me in the shadow of your wings
from the wicked who are out to destroy me,
    from my mortal enemies who surround me.

All comments welcome!

