Your Promise Preserves #NaPoWriMo2017 #GloPoWriMo2017

Do not let me stray
From the steadfast way,
May the path of purity
Steer all my steps,
Let me always accord with
The law of my loving Lord;

Before, I was afflicted –
Arrogant, and accursed;
As a lost sheep, went astray,
I applied my own way –
Your Word admonished me,
Now I adhere to your words;

I rejoices in your riches,
I delight in your decrees,
Your promise preserves my life;
As I persevere to serve,
Let me not be put to shame,
Help me to glorify your name.

Day 12 of the Na/GloPoWriMo2017 challenge, and today’s prompt from NaPoWriMo.net is to write a poem that explicitly incorporates alliteration (the use of repeated consonant sounds) and assonance (the use of repeated vowel sounds).

This poem was inspired by the lines of Psalm 119, which employs a lot of alliteration in its original Hebrew text.

All comments welcome!

