Remembering Shakespeare

Today mark’s the anniversary of William Shakespeare’s birth (in 1564), and death 400 years ago in 1616.

“I commend my soul into the hands of God, my Creator, hoping and assuredly believing, through the only merits of Jesus Christ, my Saviour, to be made partaker of life everlasting.”
― William Shakespeare

” . . . Love all, trust a few,
Do wrong to none: be able for thine enemy
Rather in power than use, and keep thy friend
Under thy own life’s key: be cheque’d for silence,
But never tax’d for speech. What heaven more will, 65
That thee may furnish and my prayers pluck down,
Fall on thy head! Farewell, my lord;”
― the Countess of Rousillon, All’s Well That Ends Well (Act I, Scene I)

“But be contented when that fell arrest
Without all bail shall carry me away,
My life hath in this line some interest,
Which for memorial still with thee shall stay.
When thou reviewest this, thou dost review
The very part was consecrate to thee:
The earth can have but earth, which is his due;
My spirit is thine, the better part of me:
So then thou hast but lost the dregs of life,
The prey of worms, my body being dead;
The coward conquest of a wretch’s knife,
Too base of thee to be remembered.
The worth of that is that which it contains,
And that is this, and this with thee remains.”
Sonnet LXXIV

One comment

  1. Thanks for posting this special tribute to Shakespeare. I especially appreciate the quote. Thanks also for the likes posted on my blog.

    Dr. J

All comments welcome!

