If we were having coffee . . .

[I’d make mine a large latte with hazelnut syrup]

My second year of blogging was a struggle – I had started a new job, taken on broader responsibilities in church, and I seemed to have no longer have either the time nor the motivation to write, or to read the writing of others (and for that I am sorry – the blogging community is a wonderfully imaginative, creative and encouragingly supportive group – a real blessing!). So 2015 saw less than a quarter of the number of posts published in 2014.

Those who know my blog posts will know that God is the inspiration and purpose of Faith Unlocked. So much of what I write is intended to honour and point to Him, that I rely heavily on the bible, prayers, worship, and preaching and teaching to prompt the content of my posts. It therefore may not be surprising that the posts drying up coincided with less time spent reading my bible, and listening to worship and teaching. I had found that ‘soaking’ myself in things of God had been the primary means of firing my imagination and letting it be directed to say the things God placed on my heart.

There were a couple of ways I could go – put the blog experience down to, well . . . experience and move on; or accept that I needed a break, and commit to come back when the time was right. Professionally I had also been taking stock to consider what realising my potential might look like, and consequently what the next steps should be. Part of the answer I believe God gave me to all my questions, was to “find my voice” again. So, now into the third year of Faith Unlocked I am trying once again, by God’s grace, with his help, and for His glory, to find the voice He has given me and to use it for the purpose to which it is directed.

I am very grateful to blogging friends who have noticed my return to writing and offered an encouraging welcome back, and also to those responsible for the several prompts and challenges which provide seeds for some of my posts. Most of all, I am grateful to my friends, family, and our great God for sustaining and supporting me more than ever. Bring it on!

2 comments

  1. Congratulations on finding your voice again! I went through the same thing last year. I just dried up in the spring. I had nothing. Then I started getting ideas again last December and am now posting several times a week. Hopefully, you will find the same sort of thing after your breather!

All comments welcome!

