Steps Back to Cair Paravel

Down the Snow Stairs

Down the Snow Stairs

Home at last, to my real country!
To the land I have sought all my life,
Though I never knew it ’til now.
‘Come further up, come further in!’

Further in through the doorway,
A steep descent, no longer dark,
Ne’er again Winter,
Without a Christmas.

The King returned, now reigns forever;
No more tears, nor sadness; no hurt, nor harm:
Now and always,
To the ends of time.

At the Lion’s roar, death’s armies flee;
In the Lion’s strength, His people stride out;
In the Lion’s name,
His people share His power;

‘And when he shakes his mane,
We shall have spring again’

written in response to a prompt and photograph from Sue Vincent – Daily Echo blog, and inspired by the enduring Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

7 comments

  1. I have to admit that looking at the photograph my mind went to the Chronicles of Narnia .. I loved your tribute to that great series!

All comments welcome!

