Faith, Hope and Love

I may speak
As one who has been blessed
With the tongues of angels
And those of the best of men,
But without love,
I am just a hollow gong.

I may be gifted
To speak in prophecy,
To fathom all earth’s mysteries,
The knowledge of the ages;
But without love,
I am nothing of note.

My faith might move mountains,
I may give all I have to the poor and hungry,
Or my body to hardship that I may boast;
Yet without love,
I shall gain nothing.

For true love is patient, true love is kind;
It neither envies, nor boasts, is never proud;
It does not dishonour others, is not self-seeking;
It is not easily angered, and keeps no record of wrongs;

Love never delights in evil,
But rejoices with the truth;
It will always protect,
Always trust,
Always hope, and persevere;
For true love will never fail.

Though prophecies may cease,
Though tongues may be stilled;
Though knowledge will pass away,
Still these three things shall ever remain:
Faith, hope and the greatest of all: love.

inspired by 1 Corinthians 13

One comment

  1. Thanks for this beautifully expressed poetic paraphrase of the celebrated chapter on love. Thanks also for the likes on Dr. J’s Apothecary Shoppe. I appreciate the support.

All comments welcome!

