‘The Burden Bearer’ by Lonnell E. Johnson

The following was posted by its author, Lonnell Johnson, of Dr J’s Apothecary Shoppe in response to my own post, My Burden is Not My Own. Please go and have a look at what else Lonnell has to share.

Glory, Glory, Hallelujah,
When I lay my burden down.

I stumbled up the rugged road;
I almost fell beneath the load
And spurned the pain inside my head,
Recalling words of one who said
“Come unto me, and I will give you rest.”

The yoke I bear cannot compare
With all he took upon Himself:
All sins, disease, and guilt, despair
That I could not forebear myself.

His burden was not made of wood,
His cross beyond all words can name.
Have I resisted unto blood?
Could I for joy endure such shame?

From a glimpse into his face
I’m strengthened by a second wind;
My mind’s renewed to keep the pace
The load is lightened by my friend.

I feel better, so much better
since I laid my burden down.

– Lonnell E. Johnson

All comments welcome!

